solo works

  • Push Pins (2021)
    • for unaccompanied alto sax

with electronics

  • Joseki (2020)
    • for soprano sax and delay
  • Abstain Red Hells (2015)
    • for soprano sax or oboe and fixed media
  • All the Morning Silences (2014)
    • for soprano sax, piano, and fixed media
  • No Disintegrations (2011)
    • for alto sax and live electronics
  • Calling (2009)
    • for tenor sax and drone (fixed media)
  • Not Cool (2009)
    • for 2 tenor saxes and fixed media

chamber ensembles with saxophone

  • Two Shorter Songs (2020)
    • for medium voice and alto saxophone, text by Dora Siegerson Shorter
  • Reflections on the Nature of Impermanence (2017)
    • for tenor sax and snare drum
  • Two Slow Movements (2014)
    • for soprano sax, alto sax, tenor sax, trombone, electric guitar, vibraphone, violin, cello, and bass
  • Anagram Fragments (2011)
    • three short movements for flute and soprano sax
  • Mechismo (1997)
    • for sax quartet (SATB)

About Me

Jay C. Batzner (b. 1974) is currently on the faculty of Central Michigan University. He reads too many comic books and tries to find time for sewing and other various hobbies. Jay likes playing chess but loses a LOT of games. 

Jay’s frequent interdisciplinary collaborations with choreographer Heather Trommer-Beardslee has led to several dance works based on student veterans, ecological succession, the Larry Craig scandal, and hyena behaviors. The hyena piece even includes puppets! 

80s atonal awesome bilston comic books comics concerto contemplative counterpoint duet dulcimer duo electronics fixed media funny hard high voice improvisation marimba medium voice noisy percussion piano poem poetry pop quartet sci-fi scifi setup short song song cycle speaking spiky spoken strugatsky timpani trigger triggered trio unpitched weird white zen